J. Andrew Goddard


Visiting, or interacting with, this website does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Although we are always interested in hearing from visitors to our website, we cannot accept representation on a new matter from either existing clients or new clients until we know that we do not have a conflict of interest that would prevent us from doing so. Therefore, please do not send us any information about any new matter that may involve a potential legal representation until we have confirmed that a conflict of interest does not exist and we have expressly agreed in writing to the representation. Until there is such an agreement, we will not be deemed to have given you any advice, any information you send may not be deemed privileged and confidential, and we may be able to represent adverse parties.


For more than 30 years, Drew Goddard has focused his practice in the area of environmental law. He counsels clients on a broad range of litigation, regulatory issues and compliance related to various local and federal environmental laws. While many of his clients are from the manufacturing sector, he also works with companies in industries such as hospitality, energy and healthcare, among others.

Drew was elected to the American College of Environmental Lawyers in 2008.  He has served on external steering committees of the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation, is the former editor of the Tennessee Environmental Law Letter, and taught environmental law as an adjunct professor at Vanderbilt University School of Law for 13 years. He has also served for several years on the various environmental committees and subcommittees of the Tennessee Chamber of Commerce and Industry and co-chairs its Air Pollution Subcommittee.

Drew has been listed in Best Lawyers in America® since 1991 and in Chambers USA since 2010.


American College of Environmental Lawyers — Fellow

Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee and the Cumberlands — Board of Directors: President (2020-2022); First Vice President (2018-2020); Second Vice President (2016-2018)

Tennessee Chamber of Commerce & Industry — Board Member (2017-present)